flower bonnet pattern

in my earlier post I have shown the picture of flower bonnet. I posted the same pictures here and some of you asked me to share the pattern. so I wrote it down for you. this will be the first time I am writing a pattern so if there are any confusions feel free to ask me.

flower bonnet
flower bonnet

I used a 3.25mm hook

start with chain 5, sl st to form ring

row1:  ch3, 13dc in ring, join to 3rd ch with sl st .

row2:  ch3,  dc in same st, dc in next dc, 1 fdc,* 2 dc, 1dc, 1 fdc* repeat in same manner, sl st at the end.

row3:  ch3,  dc in same st, 2dc, 2dc, 1fdc, *2dc, 2dc, 2dc, 1fdc* repeat in same manner, sl st at the end.

row4:  ch3, 2dc, dc, dc, 2dc, dc, fdc, * dc, 2dc, dc, dc, 2dc, dc, fdc* repeat around, sl st at the end.

row5:  ch3, 2dc, dc, 2dc, 2dc, dc,2dc, dc, fdc, * dc, 2dc, dc, 2dc, 2dc, dc,2dc, dc, fdc * repeat around, sl st at the end.

row6:  ch3, hdc in next 4 sts, dc in next 4 sts, decrease 1, decrease 2, decrease 1, *dc in next 6 sts, decrease 1, decrease 2, decrease1,* repeat 5 times, dc in next 4 sts, hdc in next 4 sts, dc, turn

row7:  ch3, hdc in each hdc, dc in each dc, work around turn

row 8: ch3,  4 hdc in next 4 sts, dc, 2dc, *dc in next 4 sts, 2dc in next sts,* repeat 11 times, hdc in next 4 sts, dc, turn

row9 – row 15:   same as row 7

row16:  ch3, hdc in next 4 sts, dc in next 4 sts,  *5dc popcorn with second color, dc in next 5 sts with base color,* repeat 11 times, dc in next 4 sts with base color, hdc in next 4 sts with base color, dc with base color. turn

row17:  working with base color ch3, hdc in next 4 sts, *dc in next 2 sts, 5dc popcorn with second color,* 22 times, dc in next three sts with base color, hdc in next 4 sts, dc, turn

row18:  same as row 16.

row19:  same as row 7.

now work for the strip

row20-row40:  ch3, hdc in next 4 sts, dc turn.

stitch a button at the other end to attach the strip to.

that’s all it is. good luck.

download now

Author: anumrinal

I am a homemaker living in Bangalore, India, with my husband and sweet twin daughters.

13 thoughts on “flower bonnet pattern”

  1. Hi
    So excited that I found your pattern. It’s so much cuter than the amish bonnet pattern I found a few months ago. Just have a question about one of your abbreviations. fdc. What is that ? I haven’t come across that abbrev. before.
    Please write me back and let me know.
    Hopefully you are online often because I want to start on this cute bonnet. Oh yeah and one more thing will this hat fit an adult head? If not,To make it fit an adult what do I have to do?

    1. hi michelle, thanks for stopping.
      fdc is front dc. it is also known as ‘fpdc’
      to make fdc: Yo and insert hook from the front to the back around the post of the dc on the previous row. Complete as for regular dc.
      it is pattern for a toddler. to make the hat fit to an adult you should work out the flat back side according to the head size.

  2. the hat is adorable. I have a question on row 6. It says decrease 1, decrease 2, decrease 1. what type of stitch is used to decrease(hdc,dc,sc)? Also how do I decrease 2?

      1. Is it possible to give me the finished stitch count for row 5? I count 91 including the chain 3 stitch. I don’t seem to have enought stitches to complete row 6. On row 6 I finish the repeat only 4 times and only have 4 stitches remaining.

      2. Hi Debbie, sorry that you r stuck. My mistake. Use dc2tog to dec1 and dc3tog to dec2. It was the first time I wrote a pattern and so forgot to mention the keywords. Thanks a lot for pointing out these to me, I will soon update the pattern. Let me know if it still does not work..

  3. I have finished the Flower bonnet. I wish I could post pics to you. It came out wonderful. The only other items I found confusing was row 16 *repeat 11 times* I repeated 10 times to have a total of 11 popcorn stitch. Same with row 17 *repeat 22 times* I repeated 21 times to have a total of 22 popcorn stitches. Thank you so much for sharing your pattern 🙂

  4. Help! Just found you and this pattern. I’m totally confused as to what you’re trying to say like in row 2. You’re very specific until you get to the instructions between the asterisks (*) — *2dc, 1dc, 1fdc* and even other rows say 2dc, 2dc, etc.). Never saw anything written like that….I’m assuming is in each stitch and confused why why not say dc in next 6 stitches. Or whatever. Sometimes you do. For example, row 7 is perfectly clear. Most patterns add the number of stitches you should have at the end of all increasing or decreasing to enable us to make sure we’re accurate. Thanks for your help.

Leave a Reply

