Petite Purls- Summer 2011 issue is out

Petite purls summer issue is out and this time it’s about toys!

There are all kind of information about the toys in the issue with lovely patterns to sew, knit and crochet. The great thing is that it has one of my pattern in it. It’s the puppet pattern named “You Can’t Catch Me!”

It is a set of finger and hand puppet of monkey and crocodile. My daughters love to sing along the rhymes with numbers; specially the one with monkeys. So when I heard the rhyme “five little monkeys swinging from a tree, teasing mister crocodile, you can’t catch me!” I knew my next project immediately. Hence these puppets were created and the rhyme time is more fun now. These puppets are fun way to introduce the numbers and counting while playing with them.

I am sure you all are going to love these puppets, and all the other patterns from the summer issue of Petite Purls.

Author: anumrinal

I am a homemaker living in Bangalore, India, with my husband and sweet twin daughters.

7 thoughts on “Petite Purls- Summer 2011 issue is out”

  1. I was thrilled to see an Indian designer pop up on PP. You do lovely work, Anu. My kids like that song too, and our local library has a crocodile and monkey puppets for story time (not handmade). I’ll have to try making these though my crochet skills lag far behind my knitting.

    Hope to see more of your designs on the internet! I’m deeni on Ravelry.

  2. Five Little Monkeys
    Five little monkeys swinging from a tree, 
    (Hold up five fingers.) 
Teasing Mr. Alligator, “Can’t catch me.” 
Along came Mr. Alligator quiet as can be, 
And snatched a monkey right out of that tree!

(As you continue, hold up appropriate 
     number of fingers on hand.) 
Four little monkeys . . .
Three little monkeys . . .
Two little monkeys . . .
One little monkey . . .
    (After the last monkey, stick thumbs in ears and tease.) 
Say, “Missed me, missed me. 
Now you gotta kiss me!”

    Thought I would add the poem for those that don’t know it. I love the puppets, can’t wait (well since my son is only 20 I can wait) till I have Grand-Children 🙂

Leave a Reply

